The Distracted/Busy One

For those of you who were thinking I would write again sooner, I apologize.  Between course-work and the baby I got pretty busy there for a while.  Happy news though, I somehow managed to pull out A’s on my midterms; not entirely sure how that happened.  I’ve been joking that either my writing is not as bad as I had thought when handing in my papers, or my professors have very low standards.  Someone I spoke with recently pointed out that it may be somewhere in the middle, and that I just had very high standards before, and now I’m just writing more like a normal person 🙂  In any event, I was near delirium handing in the last of the onslaught, so it was nice to get good results.

Now it’s time for the next round of work!  One paper coming down the pike for next week, and then two more assignments in the weeks following that.  I also have to get an online training certification completed and somehow get my list of pre-reqs completed to start my internship at Albany Med in late May.  Do you think maybe I could get a clone of myself for the next two months just to get over the pile of work?  I swear I’ll go back to being a one-woman show after that…

On a more enjoyable note, K is getting h u g e.  And in the past month has gotten very good at sitting up on his own.  Today, while we played on the floor, I sat him in front of a pair of bongos and let him go to town since he has developed a habit of smacking/patting most things in front of him.  So fun.  Baby babble has fully commenced as well, and we regularly hear full choruses of ba-ba-ba-da-da-da ahhhhhhhh, and various other shrieks, giggles, and shouts.  Being a parent really is something else.

I’ve also decided that even though I am pursuing my masters in social work at the moment, it is not what I would like to do fresh out of grad school.  Go figure, I spend 6 years between college/grad school working toward this end, and then once I get there I realize it’s not what I want to be doing with a baby at home.  Once again, those little human beings really have a way of changing your perspective.  Instead, for right now anyway, I will be venturing into the world of photography.  There’s a creative side of me that I’ve tried to put aside for…ever, really, telling myself that it’s not practical or a money-maker, but if I am going to spend time away from my son I would rather have it be that than slogging away in a windowless office or cubicle for 8+ hours a day making next to nothing.

So I’ve got to put in a shameless plug now, anyone who would like a session feel free to get in touch and we can work out cost.

Did I cover everything?  No, definitely not.  Suffice it to say that life is not boring.  In fact, I would be alright with it slowing down a little bit.  C’est la vie, right?

Like some of my papers, this is not the most impressive piece of writing anyone will ever read, but, it gets the point across 🙂  I just have to make sure all of my grammar is correct…

3 thoughts on “The Distracted/Busy One

  1. Photography instead of social work? I have a good friend who has been a photographer for years, both freelance and on the payroll. If you like, I’ll ask her if she would talk to you about how the whole shutterbug-for-hire thing works.

  2. I have a good friend who has worked as a photographer for years, both freelance and as a staff member. If you like, I’ll speak to her and try to get the two of you together on the phone. Martha has done everything from fine art photography to school pictures.

  3. That would be great! I wouldn’t mind talking with someone about how the business end of things works. For now, yes, I think photography instead of social work. That doesn’t mean that I won’t ever “do” social work, and I do see myself practicing to some degree part time in addition to photography, but with the baby I just don’t think it is the right time for a full time social work position. I am still planning on getting licensed after I finish in December, and will stay involved in the profession in some capacity while the baby is still little; but if I can take the opportunity to mostly do the stay-at-home-mom thing, that’s really what I would like to do. Photography works perfectly for that, because I can be creative and make some income, and not be away from the baby 40+ hours a week. And, it turns out I’m pretty good with a camera 🙂

Leave a Reply

